On Friday, the President signed into law the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security Act (“CARES Act”) to provide certain economic relief to individuals in the form of additional unemployment benefits, and for businesses (including self-employed) through certain loans and other programs.
The U.S. Department of Labor (USDOL) requires all employers to post a notice in a workplace with regard to emergency paid sick leave and the expansion on FMLA for coronavirus related reasons.
On March 24, 2020, the U.S. Department of Labor issued further clarification about the recently enacted Families First Coronavirus Response Act that will expand application of the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA).
Governor Charles Baker ordered businesses and organizations that do not provide “essential services” to close their workplaces to workers and the public from at noon on March 24, 2020 until noon on Tuesday April 7, 2020
We wanted to provide our clients and colleagues some information regarding certain law change coming into effect on April 1, 2020 (**Updated Sick Leave Section and Added Non-Essential Closures Section -3/24/20)
Non-profits must maintain documents and adhere to certain reporting requirements to state and federal agencies. This is a brief overview of some of the reporting requirements that sometimes get overlooked.
The Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court (SJC) recently affirmed a jury verdict and award of damages of approximately $2 million dollars against an employer for its violation of the Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA). This case involved the Massachusetts Water Resources Authority (MWRA) and a former employee who had worked for the MWRA for 11 years.
First – Don’t panic! Employees may simply gripe to another employee or a supervisor about issues in the workplace, but sometimes the complaint may involve issues that need to be immediately addressed by the employer.
The reporting and deduction obligations will begin on October 1 and will include identification of employees through the MassTax Connect.
One question that comes up in my practice is whether accrued but unused sick time is considered “wages” under Massachusetts law and if an employer must pay a terminated employee such unused sick time upon termination.